Wherein I get wordy…and a weigh-in

Oof.

I spent three hours on Thursday cleaning my living room.  THREE hours.  Cleaning ONE room.  I swear, the kids are outta control!  Their toys are stored in IKEA’s Expedit, which is awesome and fits a lot of crap, but so many toys are either redundant or have been completely untouched for the past year or more, that toys were starting to creep across my floor like The Fog.

Oh, Expedit, How I love thee!

We were in serious danger of being crushed or buried by a tide of brightly colored plastic crap.  So, with a day off for H-bomb’s afternoon speech therapy appointment, I took the rare burst of energy I was having during his naptime and put my proverbial foot down.  A full trash bag to the trash can, a full trash bag to the basement (to be added to the monstrous pile of crap down there!) and a bag for each child’s room – things to be returned that have slowly found their way into the living room and the giant mass of plastic on the floor.  The new rule in the house is a personal fave: if it’s on the floor at bedtime, it goes in the trash.  It’s worked so far on both the 7-year-old AND the 2-year-old.  Hopefully we can continue to make it work, because tired mama is DONE with being the only one cleaning up (or, more likely, NOT cleaning up and just weeping openly at the disaster my house has become over the last several months).

Needless to say, I took the hit Friday.  First of all, I haven’t worked out in, um, forever.  Seriously, it’s been over a year since I seriously worked out, strapped the girls into a smushy sports bra, tied on the hot pink sneaks, and went for a run.  So my hamstrings were screaming “ABUSER!” at me all day, and I was completely drained of any energy.  It’s probably a good thing I went back to work after a day off with actual WORK to do, because if I had had to sit and stare at the computer screen for 4 hours, I would have lost it.  Or quit.

The weekend was busy running Hurricane to daddy’s football game (he’s a coach), then to her drama class, then to run errands, and then on Sunday, taking Hurricane to Belmont Plateau in Fairmount Park in Philly for her first cross country practice meet!  She did SUCH a good job, especially for only having had two practices over two weeks – two of them were cancelled because of the incessant rain we’ve been having.  She ran in the sub-novice group, which is grades K-3.  There were 241(!!!) girls running in her race, and she came in 104th, running 2000m (1.25 miles!) in 12:39.  She was passing at the end, so I guess she got coach’s lesson about “pasting”.  We’re all so proud of her, and can’t wait to see what she can do with a couple more practices under her belt!

Oh, wait – today was a weigh-in, huh?  Grr.  Yeah, it was.

Starting Weight: 238 lbs
Last Weigh-in: 231 lbs
This Weigh-in: 231 lbs
This Week’s Loss: 0 lbs

W. T. F.  I don’t get it.  I was very good this week – there was too much pizza (oh, delivery, how I love thee!) but it still fit into my daily allowances on DailyBurn.  So I don’t get it – especially since Shark Week is over, which I thought would mean no more water weight.  Sigh.  No wonder I tend to get discouraged so quickly – if this is what happens when I’m being very vigilant and so excited about the changes I’m making, how am I going to make it through a real plateau?  I told hubby about it this morning, and he said that I shouldn’t worry about it yet – that it doesn’t indicate a trend unless it happens again next week.  He’s right, of course, but it still disappoints me.  I’ve looked into things, and what I’ve read is that a non-muscular woman (I’ll call myself that since I haven’t worked out in a good year) needs 10 calories per pound of weight to MAINTAIN her weight.  So, if I’m 230 (rounding for ease of the maths), I need 2300 calories a day to stay at 230.  My goal weight is 170 (which is the weight at which I’m no longer considered “overweight”) – you multiply THAT by 10, and get 1700.  A quickie little math problem – 2300-1700=600 – and you have the calorie deficit you need to operate at on a daily basis to lose weight.  So, according to this, I would need about 1700 calories a day to lose.

Another method is finding your BMR (basal metabolic rate – the amount of calories you burn just being, you know, alive.  If you laid in bed all day not moving, this is how many calories you’d burn).  According to this site, I would burn 1824 calories a day just lying around.  To find daily caloric needs to lose weight, you go here and find your activity level and do some more math.  Being sedentary right now, I multiply my BMR by 1.2 and get 2188, the number of calories I need to maintain my current weight.  Pretty close to the first one, right?  Now, going here (all of these sites are linked from one to the other, no worries!), you learn you can either cut your daily calorie intake by 500 or no more than 1000 calories to lose – OR you can decrease your caloric intake by 15-20% to lose.  If I did that, I’d have to decrease by 438 calories a day to lose (I took 20% off).  That would be 1750 calories a day.

All this math has been done to help YOU, my lovely readers – and also to reconfirm in two different ways that my 1500-1700 calorie a day intake is right on track.  Which just makes me madder.  Grr.

Sorry I got all long-winded and research-y on you!  It comes from being married to a scientist and having a scientific bent myself!

And don’t get me started on the number of carbs you need a day…I’ll save that for another post!  Or how balancing your hormones can help speed weight loss….

About talamorgan

I'm an almost 40 mother of 2 fighting depression and fighting the battle of the bulge. I want this blog to keep me motivated, to hold me accountable, and to lend me support while I try to fight for my mental as well as physical health.

Leave a Reply

