I Heart My Therapist

Had therapy this morning, and it was really nice to be able to tell her about my weight loss!  I don’t want to obsess about it, so I’m sure as heck not going to tell her every week or anything, but she was excited for me and for how hopeful I was feeling (isn’t it funny how something going positively can influence everything else?  Every once in awhile this week I’d get a little frisson of hope go through me! )  We talked about how I’d feel if I got on the scale and either didn’t lose or gained.  I said it depended on the mood I was in, but she said (and it’s true!) “The action creates the mood.”  I mean, this week has been a perfect example: I started watching what I was eating and making healthy choices (the action), and I started feeling way better about life in general (the mood).  Positive forward motion FTW!

And it’s a good thing I had some of that positive energy this week, because there were definitely moments of feeling overwhelmed and burnt out.  Hubby works his butt off so I can stay home mornings with the kids (well, I get to drive the oldest to school and then spend my morning with the little guy!)  And during football season, he’s around even less because he’s a coach.  So there are definitely moments where the kids just overwhelm me – they are SO high energy!  I admit to at least two instances of tears, and even the occasional plea for someone, anyone, to take my kids for just an hour.  Alas, it didn’t happen, and I lived through it! J  I’m utterly exhausted this week, which usually leads to negativity and stress levels through the roof.  I’m trying to work through it, tweaking my sleeping pill dosage on my own, trying to see what works with the little amount of free time hubby and I get after the kids are in bed, and the fact that I have to be up and at least somewhat coherent at 6:30 in the morning.  It’s a tricky balancing act, especially with depression.  There are many days where it’s all I can do to get up and get moving, but with the kids, I have no choice.  And that’s a good thing.  I tend to wallow enough as it is, and definitely don’t need a reason to wallow even further and not get out of bed all day.

About talamorgan

I'm an almost 40 mother of 2 fighting depression and fighting the battle of the bulge. I want this blog to keep me motivated, to hold me accountable, and to lend me support while I try to fight for my mental as well as physical health.

2 responses to “I Heart My Therapist”

  1. Jessica Marshall says :

    Hi Amanda! I am coming over from Gretchen’s site! I can’t wait to get to know you better! Keep your head up 🙂

Leave a Reply

